Home » Politics » PPP, MQM to avoid provocative statements

PPP, MQM to avoid provocative statements

PPP-MQM pakistan newsKARACHI: The Pakistan People’s Party and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement have agreed to stop their leaders and workers from issuing provocative statements against each other.

The decision was taken at a meeting between leaders of the two parties convened and chaired by Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad here on Friday evening.

According to sources, the meeting was called to pacify the situation which had developed after the two parties started leveling allegations against each other. The MQM had accused the provincial home minister of patronising elements involved in the Lyari gang war while the PPP alleged that it also had proofs against some MQM leaders.

Senior Sindh Minister Pir Mazhar-ul-Haq, Home Minister Dr Zulfikar Mirza, Law Minister Ayaz Soomro and Najme Alam represented the PPP. The MQM team comprised Federal Minister for Overseas Pakistanis Dr Farooq Sattar, Sindh Health Minister Dr Saghir Ahmad, Information Technology Minister Raza Haroon and Public Health Engineering Minister Adil Siddiqui.

The sources said that the governor had stressed the need for stabilising and strengthening the reconciliation process between the PPP and the MQM. He asked the two parties to stop issuing statements against each other and utilise their energy for strengthening the government and serving the masses.

The meeting also discussed the law and order situation in the province.

BY-ELECTION: All arrangements have been made for a by-election in Sindh Assembly constituency PS-94 (Orangi Town) to be held on Sunday, deputy chief election commissioner of Sindh Mohammed Najeeb said on Friday.

The seat fell vacant after the murder of MQM MPA Raza Haider who was gunned down on Aug 2, along with his police guard, in a mosque in Nazimabad. Mr Najeeb said that five candidates — Siafuddin Khalid (MQM), Riaz Gul (ANP) and three independent candidates, Zeenat Yasmeen, Abdul Haq and Masood Alam — were contesting for the seat.

He said that 86 polling stations accommodate 287 polling booths had been established. District returning officer Tanvir Zaki and returning officer Nadeem Haider will supervise the polling.—APP

Like this story?

More News on EPakistanNews.com

Pakistan News update 24 hours, latest breaking news updates in Pakistan, Pak news, Pakistan Urdu columns, latest news pakistan, political news updates, E Pakistan Newspaper, Karachi News, Karachi Updates, Lahore news, Islamabad news, Multan news and more breaking news, E Pakistan News brings Latest Pakistan News, headline news, pk politics, News online, sports, politics news from Pakistan.

Home - Disclaimer - Follow us on Twitter - Like us on Facebook

Copyright © 2010-2015, E Pakistan News, All rights are reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission are strongly prohibited.
if you need any further assistance please contact us via email epn@epakistannews.com